What's new

Newton2 Help

jolash

Mega Poster
I've always looked down upon the use of tools in NoLimits. But after years of frustrating hand building with horrible banking and pump issues, I figured I'd give it a shot.

It's a pretty tricky program to use, but I threw something together last night real quick using some tutorials I found on Youtube, and wouldn't you believe it, I made the most perfect coaster I have ever created in years of using NoLimits. Perfect banking, perfectly smooth yet twisty transitions, perfectly shaped airtime hills with exactly the amount of Gs (or lack thereof) I want. It's amazing the kind of possibilities this tool creates.

But I'm no expert on it yet. Anyone have any tips or tricks that could help me? I'm having a hard time fulling understanding everything. When should I be using a multi-zone force? What is the difference between Euler and Quaternion? What are all these transition shapes (Sextic, Timewarping, Quantic, etc. etc.)? Should I be creating entire rides in this, or just create elements and plug and play them into NoLimits? There's so many more questions I could ask too.

Any advice is mucho appreciated.

BBH

Giga Poster
I know the Quaternion orientation is for inverting elements, so you wouldn't use it for airtime hills.

I just got it today and it's a fantastic program, but the way I use it is by referring to the official tutorials with a plug-and-play aspect.

Ethan

Strata Poster
Newton is so good <3

I only use Quarternion for loops (minus zero-g rolls) and some helixes. Also, try to use Multi-zone for all segments that aren't brakes, stations, launches and lifts!

It's just a case of playing with it and learning. It's taken me about a year to know how to use it fully, but it's just a case of trial and error! One thing I did find useful was studying how elements are made and imitating that.

If you ever want to, just PM me and I can whip up an element, and send the .newt file to you for reference :)

jolash